NJ minimum wage hike signed into law

An increase to $15 will be phased in over five years.

Gov. Phil Murphy (D) has signed into law legislation that will increase New Jersey's minimum wage over a five-year period from the current $8.85 an hour to $15 an hour.

The phase-in schedule for most employees is as follows:

July 1, 2019: $10

January 1, 2020: $11

January 1, 2021: $12

January 1, 2022: $13

January 1, 2023: $14

January 1, 2024: $15

The legislation will also increase the tipped minimum wage from the current $2.13 an hour to $5.13 an hour.

Seasonal workers and employees whose employers have five or fewer employees will have a slower phase-in. 

Governor Murphy hailed the legislation as a victory for working families. However, some Republicans and business groups say that it will lead to price increases and layoffs by creating too much of a burden for businesses that operate in the state.

The legislation was passed by both houses of the Legislature on February 1, and signed into law by Governor Murphy on February 4.

Robin Shea has 30 years' experience in employment litigation, including Title VII and the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act (including the Amendments Act). 
Continue Reading

Subscribe

Archives

Back to Page

Here we grow again! Constangy is pleased to welcome 32 experienced attorneys in a significant expansion of the firm’s Cybersecurity & Data Privacy practice. The attorneys who will be joining the Constangy Cyber Team are located across 17 cities in 12 states, and are driving the opening of new offices for Constangy in Baltimore, Indianapolis, Philadelphia, Portland, Seattle and Washington, D.C. To learn more about the Constangy Cyber Team, click here.