Robin's quickie guide to the U.S. Courts of Appeal

The U.S. Courts of Appeal hear appeals from federal district courts in their assigned states, or as otherwise specified below:

First Circuit: Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island, and Puerto Rico.

Second Circuit: Connecticut, New York, and Vermont.

Third Circuit: Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

Fourth Circuit: Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Fifth Circuit: Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas.

Sixth Circuit: Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee.

Seventh Circuit: Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin.

Eighth Circuit: Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

Ninth Circuit: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington (state), Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Tenth Circuit: Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming.

Eleventh Circuit: Alabama, Florida, and Georgia.

District of Columbia Circuit: (Hmm . . .what do you think?)

Federal Circuit: (Handles patent cases, and other specialized cases that we don't need to worry about on this blog.)

Robin Shea has 30 years' experience in employment litigation, including Title VII and the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act (including the Amendments Act). 
Continue Reading



Back to Page