Woo-hoo! We have a full EEOC!

And a Republican majority.

This week, the U.S. Senate confirmed the nominations of three individuals to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. The five-member Commission has had only three members since January 2019.

The EEOC commissioners are

  • Janet Dhillon, Chair (R)
  • Charlotte Burrows (D)
  • Keith Sonderling (R) - NEW
  • Andrea Lucas (R) - NEW
  • Jocelyn Samuels (D) - NEW

I wrote about the three newbies not too long ago:

Mr. Sonderling [was] Deputy Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor. Ms. Lucas [was] a labor and employment associate with the law firm of Gibson Dunn & Crutcher, LLP, and worked with Secretary of Labor Eugene Scalia when he was a partner with that law firm.

Ms. Samuels [was] Executive Director of UCLA's Williams Institute, a pro-LGBT rights think tank, who was a member of the Civil Rights Commission during the Obama Administration.

Welcome, new commissioners! Please be nice to employers.

Robin Shea has 30 years' experience in employment litigation, including Title VII and the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act (including the Amendments Act). 
Continue Reading



Back to Page