Constangy FYI

Like the first Executive Order, President Trump’s latest “travel ban,” which was to take effect today, has been blocked nationwide by federal judges in Hawaii and Maryland.  

Although both court orders are intended to apply nationwide, the Hawaii order is broader. It applies both to the ban on entry and visa issuance to nationals of the six designated countries (Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen), and to the suspension of admission of refugees. The Maryland court’s order does not apply to the “refugee” portion of the EO.

The law regarding the new Executive Order is obviously in a fluid state. Accordingly, we continue to recommend that any individuals from the six “banned” countries who are not excluded by the terms of the Executive Order avoid unnecessary travel outside the United States until the law is settled. 

Practice Areas

Back to Page