On June 28, Massachusetts joined a small but growing number of states that have enacted laws requiring paid family and medical leave. (The other jurisdictions requiring paid leave are California, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Washington, as well as the District of Columbia.)
Under the new law, employees—even self-employed workers—are entitled to take up to 12 weeks of paid family leave and up to 20 weeks of paid medical leave with the promise that they can return to their previous job or to an equivalent position.
To pay for the leave, the new law provides for a payroll tax increase amounting to 0.63 percent of each employee’s wages. Employees then apply to a Security Trust Fund for wage replacement according to a formula that is capped at $850/week. Although the program will not become fully effective until 2021, employers’ compliance obligations will begin in the summer of 2019.
This webinar will answer the following questions:
- What does the new law provide?
- What must Massachusetts employers do to prepare for it?
Continuing Education: 1.0 HRCI Credit and 1.0 SHRM Credit*